PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcphBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Public Health
 
BMC Public Health. 2012; 12: 472.
Published online Jun 21, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1471-2458-12-472
PMCID: PMC3490729
Evaluation of underreporting tuberculosis in Central Italy by means of record linkage
Lorenza Melosini,corresponding author1 Umberto Vetrano,2 Federico L Dente,1 Michele Cristofano,3 Mauro Giraldi,3 Luciano Gabbrielli,1 Federica Novelli,1 Ferruccio Aquilini,1 Laura Rindi,4 Francesco Menichetti,2 Giulia Freer,4 and Pierluigi L Paggiaro1
1Cardio-Thoracic and Vascular Department, Ospedale Cisanello, Via Paradisa 2, 56100 Pisa, Italy
2Infectious Diseases Unit, University Hospital, Pisa, Italy
3Medical Direction University Hospital, Pisa, Italy
4Micobacteriology Unit, University Hospital, Pisa, Italy
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Lorenza Melosini: edomarghe/at/yahoo.it; Umberto Vetrano: vetranoumberto/at/yahoo.it; Federico L Dente: f.dente/at/ao-pisa.toscana.it; Michele Cristofano: m.cristofano/at/ao-pisa.toscana.it; Mauro Giraldi: m.giraldi/at/ao-pisa.toscana.it; Luciano Gabbrielli: l.gabbrielli/at/virgilio.it; Federica Novelli: f.c.78/at/libero.it; Ferruccio Aquilini: f.aquilini/at/ao-pisa.toscana.it; Laura Rindi: laura.rindi/at/med.unipi.it; Francesco Menichetti: f.menichetti/at/ao-pisa.toscana.it; Giulia Freer: giulia.freer/at/med.unipi.it; Pierluigi L Paggiaro: lpaggiaro/at/dcap.med.unipi.it
Received October 21, 2011; Accepted June 7, 2012.
Abstract
Background
Tuberculosis (TB) surveillance systems have some pitfalls outside of a National Tuberculosis Program and lack of efficient surveillance hampers accurate epidemiological quantification of TB burden.
In the present study we assessed the quality of surveillance at the University Hospital in Pisa (UHP), Italy, and TB incidence rates over a ten year period (1999–2008).
Methods
Assessment of underreporting was done by record-linkage from two sources: databases of TB diagnoses performed in the UHP and the Italian Infectious Disease Surveillance (IIDS) system. Two different databases were examined: a) TB diagnoses reported in the Hospital Discharge Records (HDR) from three Units of UHP (Respiratory Pathophysiology, Pulmonology and Infectious Diseases Units) (TB database A); b) TB diagnoses reported in HDR of all Units of UHP plus TB positive cases obtained by the Laboratory Register (LR) of UHP (TB database B). For the TB database A, the accuracy of TB diagnosis in HDR was assessed by direct examination of the Clinical Record Forms of the cases. For the TB database B, clinical and population data were described, as well as the trend of incidence and underreporting over 10 yrs.
Results
In the first study 293 patients were found: 80 patients (27%) with a confirmed TB diagnosis were underreported, 39 of them were microbiologically confirmed. Underreporting was related to age (Reported vs Non Reported, mean age: 49.27 ± 20 vs 55 ± 19, p < 0.005 ), diagnosis (smear positive vs negative cases 18.7 vs 81.2%, p = 0.001), microbiological confirmation (49% vs 51%, p < 0.05), X-ray findings (cavitary vs non-cavitary cases: 12.5 vs 87.5%, p = 0.001) but not to nationality.
In the second study, 666 patients were found. Mean underreporting rate was 69.4% and decreased over time (68% in 1999, 48% in 2008). Newly diagnosed TB cases were also found to decrease in number whereas immigration rate increased. Underreporting was related to nationality (Immigrants vs Italians: 18% vs 68%, p < 0.001), diagnosis (microbiological confirmation: 25% vs 75%, p < 0.01), kind of hospital regimen (hospitalized patients vs Day Hospital: 70% vs 16%, p < 0.001), and position of TB code in the HDR (TB code in first position vs in the following position: 39,5% vs 45% p < 0.001).
Conclusions
TB is underreported in Pisa, particularly in older patients and those without microbiological confirmation. The TB code in first position of HDR seems fairly accurate in confirming TB diagnosis.
Keywords: TB –notifications
Articles from BMC Public Health are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central