PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcmicrBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Microbiology
 
BMC Microbiol. 2012; 12: 164.
Published online Aug 2, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1471-2180-12-164
PMCID: PMC3487804
Production of fungal and bacterial growth modulating secondary metabolites is widespread among mycorrhiza-associated streptomycetes
Silvia D Schrey,1 Eric Erkenbrack,1 Elisabeth Früh,1 Svenja Fengler,1 Kerstin Hommel,3 Nadine Horlacher,2 Dirk Schulz,2 Margret Ecke,1 Andreas Kulik,2 Hans-Peter Fiedler,2 Rüdiger Hampp,1 and Mika T Tarkkacorresponding author1,3
1IMIT-Physiological Ecology of Plants, Auf der Morgenstelle 1, 72076, Tuebingen, Germany
2IMIT-Microbiology/Antibiotics, Auf der Morgenstelle 28, 72076, Tuebingen, Germany
3Department of Soil Ecology, UFZ-Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research, Theodor Lieser Strasse 4, Halle, Germany
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Silvia D Schrey: silvia.schrey/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Eric Erkenbrack: erkenbra/at/caltech.edu; Elisabeth Früh: elisabeth.frueh/at/ufz.de; Svenja Fengler: svenja.fengler/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Kerstin Hommel: kerstin.hommel/at/ufz.de; Nadine Horlacher: nadine.horlacher/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Dirk Schulz: dirkinbasel/at/web.de; Margret Ecke: margret.ecke/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Andreas Kulik: andreas.kulik/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Hans-Peter Fiedler: hans-peter.fiedler/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Rüdiger Hampp: ruediger.hampp/at/uni-tuebingen.de; Mika T Tarkka: mika.tarkka/at/ufz.de
Received March 14, 2012; Accepted July 5, 2012.
Abstract
Background
Studies on mycorrhiza associated bacteria suggest that bacterial-fungal interactions play important roles during mycorrhiza formation and affect plant health. We surveyed Streptomyces Actinobacteria, known as antibiotic producers and antagonists of fungi, from Norway spruce mycorrhizas with predominantly Piloderma species as the fungal partner.
Results
Fifteen Streptomyces isolates exhibited substantial variation in inhibition of tested mycorrhizal and plant pathogenic fungi (Amanita muscaria, Fusarium oxysporum, Hebeloma cylindrosporum, Heterobasidion abietinum, Heterobasidion annosum, Laccaria bicolor, Piloderma croceum). The growth of the mycorrhiza-forming fungus Laccaria bicolor was stimulated by some of the streptomycetes, and Piloderma croceum was only moderately affected. Bacteria responded to the streptomycetes differently than the fungi. For instance the strain Streptomyces sp. AcM11, which inhibited most tested fungi, was less inhibitory to bacteria than other tested streptomycetes. The determined patterns of Streptomyces-microbe interactions were associated with distinct patterns of secondary metabolite production. Notably, potentially novel metabolites were produced by strains that were less antagonistic to fungi. Most of the identified metabolites were antibiotics (e.g. cycloheximide, actiphenol) and siderophores (e.g. ferulic acid, desferroxiamines). Plant disease resistance was activated by a single streptomycete strain only.
Conclusions
Mycorrhiza associated streptomycetes appear to have an important role in inhibiting the growth of fungi and bacteria. Additionally, our study indicates that the Streptomyces strains, which are not general antagonists of fungi, may produce still un-described metabolites.
Articles from BMC Microbiology are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central