PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcphBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Public Health
 
BMC Public Health. 2012; 12: 560.
Published online Jul 27, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1471-2458-12-560
PMCID: PMC3412728
Psychosocial factors associated with becoming a young father in Finland: a nationwide longitudinal study
Venla Lehti,1 Andre Sourander,corresponding author1,2 Lauri Sillanmäki,1 Hans Helenius,3 Tuula Tamminen,4 Kirsti Kumpulainen,5 and Fredrik Almqvist6
1Department of Child Psychiatry, University of Turku, Itäinen Pitkäkatu 1/Varia, Turku, 20014, Finland
2Center for Child and Adolescent Mental Health, North Norway (RBUP), University of Tromsø, 9037, Breivika, Norway
3Department of Biostatistics, University of Turku, Lemminkäisenkatu 1, 20014, Turku, Finland
4Department of Child Psychiatry, Medical School, University of Tampere, Tampere, 33014, Finland
5Department of Child Psychiatry, University of Eastern Finland, Alava hospital, P.O. Box 1777, 70211, Kuopio, Finland
6Department of Child Psychiatry, University of Helsinki, the Hospital of Children & Adolescents, Lastenlinnantie 2, 00250, Helsinki, Finland
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Venla Lehti: venla.lehti/at/utu.fi; Andre Sourander: andre.sourander/at/utu.fi; Lauri Sillanmäki: lauri.sillanmaki/at/utu.fi; Hans Helenius: hans.helenius/at/utu.fi; Tuula Tamminen: tuula.tamminen/at/uta.fi; Kirsti Kumpulainen: kirsti.kumpulainen/at/kuh.fi; Fredrik Almqvist: fredrik.almqvist/at/hus.fi
Received December 13, 2011; Accepted July 27, 2012.
Abstract
Background
Little is known about the characteristics of boys who become fathers at young age. Some studies have suggested that antisocial adolescents are more likely to be young fathers. The aim of this study was to examine the associations of psychosocial factors in childhood with becoming a young father, and to assess if they are independent of criminal behavior in adolescence.
Methods
The baseline assessment in 1989 included 2,946 boys born in 1981. Information about psychiatric symptoms at age eight was collected with Rutter questionnaires from parents and teachers and with the Child Depression Inventory from the children themselves. Data on criminal offenses at age 16–20 was collected from a police register. Register-based follow-up data on becoming a father under the age of 22 was available for 2,721 boys.
Results
The factors measured at age eight, which were associated with becoming a young father independently of adolescent criminality, were conduct problems, being born to a young father and having a mother with a low educational level. Having repeatedly committed criminal offences in adolescence was associated with becoming a young father independently of psychosocial factors in childhood.
Conclusions
Antisocial tendencies both in childhood and adolescence are associated with becoming a young father. They should be taken into consideration when designing preventive or supportive interventions.
Keywords: Young father, Childhood, Adolescence, Risk factor, Epidemiology
Articles from BMC Public Health are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central