PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of aidsrestherBioMed CentralBiomed Central Web Sitesearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleAIDS Research and Therapy
 
AIDS Res Ther. 2012; 9: 12.
Published online Apr 23, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1742-6405-9-12
PMCID: PMC3349607
A home-based approach to managing multi-drug resistant tuberculosis in Uganda: a case report
Emmanuel Luyirika,corresponding author1 Henry Nsobya,1 Richard Batamwita,1 Pheona Busingye,1 William Musoke,1 Lillian Nabiddo,1 Yvonne Karamagi,1 and Barbara Mukasa1
1Mildmay Centre, PO Box 24985, Kampala, Uganda
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Emmanuel Luyirika: emmanuel.luyirika/at/mildmay.or.ug; Henry Nsobya: henry.nsobya/at/mildmay.or.ug; Richard Batamwita: richard.batamwita/at/mildmay.or.ug; Pheona Busingye: pheona.busingye/at/mildmay.or.ug; William Musoke: william.musoke/at/mildmay.or.ug; Lillian Nabiddo: lillian.nabiddo/at/mildmay.or.ug; Yvonne Karamagi: yvonne.karamagi/at/mildmay.or.ug; Barbara Mukasa: barbara.mukasa/at/mildmay.or.ug
Received February 29, 2012; Accepted April 23, 2012.
Abstract
This case report describes an HIV-positive patient with recurrent tuberculosis in Uganda. After several failed courses of treatment, the patient was diagnosed with multi-drug resistant tuberculosis (MDR-TB). As adequate in-patient facilities were unavailable, we advised the patient to remain at home, and he received treatment at home via his family and a community nurse. The patient had a successful clearance of tuberculosis. This strategy of home-based care represents an important opportunity for treatment of patients in East Africa, where human resource constraints and inadequate hospital facilities exist for complex patients at high risk of infection to others.
Keywords: HIV, Tuberculosis, Multi-drug resistant, MDR-TB, Home-care, Home-based care, East Africa, Sub-Saharan Africa
Articles from AIDS Research and Therapy are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central