PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of actavetsBioMed CentralBiomed Central Web Sitesearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleActa Veterinaria Scandinavica
 
Acta Vet Scand. 2012; 54(1): 17.
Published online Mar 26, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1751-0147-54-17
PMCID: PMC3338405
PCV2-DNA in formalin-fixed and paraffin embedded lymph nodes of wild boar (Sus scrofa ssp. scrofa): one sampling approach for two laboratory techniques
Federico Morandi,corresponding author1 Serena Panarese,1 Ranieri Verin,2 Fabio Ostanello,1 Cinzia Benazzi,1 and Giuseppe Sarli1
1Department of Veterinary Medical Science, University of Bologna, via Tolara di Sopra 50, 40064 Ozzano dell'Emilia, Bologna, Italy
2Department of Animal Pathology, Prophylaxis and Food Hygiene, University of Pisa, Viale delle Piagge 2, 56124 Pisa, Italy
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Federico Morandi: federico.morandi/at/unibo.it; Serena Panarese: serena.panarese2/at/unibo.it; Ranieri Verin: rverin/at/vet.unipi.it; Fabio Ostanello: fabio.ostanello/at/unibo.it; Cinzia Benazzi: cinzia.benazzi/at/unibo.it; Giuseppe Sarli: giuseppe.sarli/at/unibo.it
Received May 31, 2011; Accepted March 26, 2012.
Abstract
Superficial inguinal lymph nodes from 72 wild boars examined in a previous immunohistochemical (IHC) study on porcine circovirus type 2 (PCV2) were selected for a PCV2 polymerase chain reaction (PCR) analysis. Four of these lymph nodes were PCV2-IHC strongly positive with PMWS histological lesions (outcome 1), 6 weak to mild PCV2-IHC positive without PMWS histological lesions (outcome 2) and 62 PCV2-IHC negative. Considering IHC the gold standard for diagnosis, the aims of the study were to evaluate the suitability of the PCV2-DNA extraction from formalin-fixed and paraffin-embedded (FFPE) tissue and the sensitivity and specificity of PCR under two IHC interpretations criteria: (A) the sample was considered positive if the result was outcome 1; (B) the sample was considered positive if the result was outcome 1 or 2. Under (A) criteria, sensitivity and specificity of PCR were 100% and 89.7%, respectively; the Cohen's Kappa coefficient was 0.49. Under (B) criteria, sensitivity and specificity of PCR were 80.0% and 95.2%, respectively; the Cohen's Kappa coefficient was 0.72. The high Cohen's Kappa coefficient under the (B) interpretative criteria indicates good agreement between the two methods. In conclusion, 1) DNA extracted from FFPE specimens of wild boar is suitable for PCR and further represents a screening test for PCV2/PCVD (PCV2 Diseases) investigations in wild boar as well; 2) routine histological sampling can also be useful for PCV2 virological studies in wild boar.
Articles from Acta Veterinaria Scandinavica are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central