PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of aicSpringerOpen.comThis journalSubmit a manuscriptRegisterSpringerOpen.comAnnals of Intensive Care
 
Ann Intensive Care. 2012; 2: 7.
Published online Mar 6, 2012. doi:  10.1186/2110-5820-2-7
PMCID: PMC3309959
Superimposed high-frequency jet ventilation combined with continuous positive airway pressure/assisted spontaneous breathing improves oxygenation in patients with H1N1-associated ARDS
Tobias M Bingold,corresponding author1 Bertram Scheller,1 Timo Wolf,2 Jens Meier,1 Alexander Koch,1 Kai Zacharowski,1 Peter Rosenberger,1 and Thomas Iber1
1Clinic of Anaesthesia, Intensive Care Medicine and Pain Therapy, University Hospital Frankfurt am Main, Theodor-Stern-Kai 7, 60590 Frankfurt am Main, Germany
2Medical Clinic II, Infectious Disease, University Hospital Frankfurt am Main, Germany
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Tobias M Bingold: tobias.bingold/at/kgu.de; Bertram Scheller: bertram.scheller/at/kgu.de; Timo Wolf: timo.wolf/at/kgu.de; Jens Meier: jens.meier/at/kgu.de; Alexander Koch: alexander.koch/at/kgu.de; Kai Zacharowski: kai.zacharowski/at/kgu.de; Peter Rosenberger: peter.rosenberger/at/kgu.de; Thomas Iber: thomas.iber/at/kgu.de
Received November 14, 2011; Accepted March 6, 2012.
Abstract
Background
Numerous cases of swine-origin 2009 H1N1 influenza A virus (H1N1)-associated acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) bridged by extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) therapy have been reported; however, complication rates are high. We present our experience with H1N1-associated ARDS and successful bridging of lung function using superimposed high-frequency jet ventilation (SHFJV) in combination with continuous positive airway pressure/assisted spontaneous breathing (CPAP/ASB).
Methods
We admitted five patients with H1N1 infection and ARDS to our intensive care unit. Although all patients required pure oxygen and controlled ventilation, oxygenation was insufficient. We applied SHFJV/CPAP/ASB to improve oxygenation.
Results
Initial PaO2/FiO2 ratio prior SHFJV was 58-79 mmHg. In all patients, successful oxygenation was achieved by SHFJV (PaO2/FiO2 ratio 105-306 mmHg within 24 h). Spontaneous breathing was set during first hours after admission. SHFJV could be stopped after 39, 40, 72, 100, or 240 h. Concomitant pulmonary herpes simplex virus (HSV) infection was observed in all patients. Two patients were successfully discharged. The other three patients relapsed and died within 7 weeks mainly due to combined HSV infection and in two cases reoccurring H1N1 infection.
Conclusions
SHFJV represents an alternative to bridge lung function successfully and improve oxygenation in the critically ill.
Articles from Annals of Intensive Care are provided here courtesy of
Springer-Verlag