PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcphBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Public Health
 
BMC Public Health. 2012; 12: 15.
Published online Jan 6, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1471-2458-12-15
PMCID: PMC3287965
Community-based educational intervention to limit the dissemination of community-associated methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus in Northern Saskatchewan, Canada
George R Golding,1 Brian Quinn,2 Kirsten Bergstrom,3 Donna Stockdale,2 Shirley Woods,4 Mandiangu Nsungu,4 Barb Brooke,5 Paul N Levett,6 Greg Horsman,6 Ryan McDonald,6 Brian Szklarczuk,1 Steve Silcox,1 Shirley Paton,7 Mary Carson,8 Michael R Mulvey,1 and James Irvinecorresponding author2,9, the Northern Antibiotic Resistance Partnership
1National Microbiology Laboratory, Winnipeg, MB, Canada
2Population Health Unit, LaRonge, SK, Canada
3University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB, Canada
4Northern Intertribal Health Authority, Prince Albert, SK, Canada
5Red Earth First Nation, Meadow Lake, SK, Canada
6Saskatchewan Disease Control Laboratory, Regina, SK, Canada
7Public Health Agency of Canada, Ottawa, ON, Canada
8Do Bugs Need Drugs, Edmonton, AB, Canada
9Population Health Unit, Athabasca, Keewatin Yatthé and Mamawetan Churchill River Health Authorities, 2nd Floor, Lac La Ronge Indian Band Office, Box 6000, LaRonge, SK S0J 1L0, Canada
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
George R Golding: george.golding/at/phac-aspc.gc.ca; Brian Quinn: Brian.Quinn/at/mcrrha.sk.ca; Kirsten Bergstrom: kirsten.brgstrm/at/gmail.com; Donna Stockdale: Donna.Stockdale/at/mcrrha.sk.ca; Shirley Woods: swoods/at/nitha.com; Mandiangu Nsungu: mnsungu/at/nitha.com; Barb Brooke: bbrooke/at/onehealth.ca; Paul N Levett: plevett/at/health.gov.sk.ca; Greg Horsman: ghorsman/at/health.gov.sk.ca; Ryan McDonald: rmcdonald/at/health.gov.sk.ca; Brian Szklarczuk: Brian.Szklarczuk/at/phac-aspc.gc.ca; Steve Silcox: steve.silcox/at/phac-aspc.gc.ca; Shirley Paton: Shirley_Paton/at/phac-aspc.gc.ca; Mary Carson: mary.carson/at/albertahealthservices.ca; Michael R Mulvey: michael.mulvey/at/phac-aspc.gc.ca; James Irvine: James.Irvine/at/mcrrha.sk.ca
Received November 4, 2011; Accepted January 6, 2012.
Abstract
Background
Surveillance examining the incidence of community-associated methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (CA-MRSA) was conducted over 8 years beginning in 2001 in three health regions covering the northern half of Saskatchewan. The annual rate of individuals reported with CA-MRSA infection in these regions dramatically increased from 8.2 per 10,000 population in 2001 (range to 4.4-10.1 per 10,000) to 168.1 per 10,000 in 2006 (range 43.4-230.9 per 10,000). To address this issue, a team of community members, healthcare professionals, educators and research scientists formed a team called "the Northern Antibiotic Resistance Partnership" (NARP) to develop physician, patient, community, and school based educational materials in an attempt to limit the spread of CA-MRSA.
Methods
Posters, radio broadcasts, community slide presentations, physician treatment algorithms, patient pamphlets, and school educational programs Do Bugs Need Drugs http://www.dobugsneeddrugs.org and Germs Away http://www.germsaway.ca were provided to targeted northern communities experiencing high rates of infections.
Results
Following implementation of this program, the rates of MRSA infections in the targeted communities have decreased nearly two-fold (242.8 to 129.3 infections/10,000 population) from 2006 to 2008. Through pre-and post-educational intervention surveys, this decrease in MRSA infections coincided with an increase in knowledge related to appropriate antimicrobial usage and hand washing in these communities.
Conclusion
These educational materials are all freely available http://www.narp.ca and will hopefully aid in increasing awareness of the importance of proper antimicrobial usage and hygiene in diminishing the spread of S. aureus and other infectious diseases in other communities.
Articles from BMC Public Health are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central