PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmccancBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Cancer
 
BMC Cancer. 2012; 12: 15.
Published online Jan 13, 2012. doi:  10.1186/1471-2407-12-15
PMCID: PMC3280152
Multicellular tumor spheroid model to evaluate spatio-temporal dynamics effect of chemotherapeutics: application to the gemcitabine/CHK1 inhibitor combination in pancreatic cancer
Isabelle Dufau,corresponding author1 Céline Frongia,2 Flavie Sicard,4 Laure Dedieu,1 Pierre Cordelier,4 Frédéric Ausseil,1 Bernard Ducommun,2,3 and Annie Valette2
1USR 3388 CNRS/Pierre Fabre, Centre de Recherche et Développement Pierre Fabre, 3 avenue Hubert Curien BP 13562, 31035 Toulouse Cedex1, France
2Université de Toulouse and CNRS, ITAV-UMS3039, Toulouse, France
3CHU de Toulouse, Toulouse, France
4INSERM and Université de Toulouse, CRCT-UMR1037, Toulouse, France
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Isabelle Dufau: isabelle.dufau/at/etac.cnrs.fr; Céline Frongia: celine.frongia/at/itav-recherche.fr; Flavie Sicard: flavie.sicard/at/inserm.fr; Laure Dedieu: laure.dedieu/at/etac.cnrs.fr; Pierre Cordelier: pierre.cordelier/at/inserm.fr; Frédéric Ausseil: frederic.ausseil/at/pierre-fabre.com; Bernard Ducommun: bernard.ducommun/at/itav-recherche.fr; Annie Valette: annie.valette/at/itav-recherche.fr
Received August 2, 2011; Accepted January 13, 2012.
Abstract
Background
The multicellular tumor spheroid (MCTS) is an in vitro model associating malignant-cell microenvironment and 3D organization as currently observed in avascular tumors.
Methods
In order to evaluate the relevance of this model for pre-clinical studies of drug combinations, we analyzed the effect of gemcitabine alone and in combination with the CHIR-124 CHK1 inhibitor in a Capan-2 pancreatic cell MCTS model.
Results
Compared to monolayer cultures, Capan-2 MCTS exhibited resistance to gemcitabine cytotoxic effect. This resistance was amplified in EGF-deprived quiescent spheroid suggesting that quiescent cells are playing a role in gemcitabine multicellular resistance. After a prolonged incubation with gemcitabine, DNA damages and massive apoptosis were observed throughout the spheroid while cell cycle arrest was restricted to the outer cell layer, indicating that gemcitabine-induced apoptosis is directly correlated to DNA damages. The combination of gemcitabine and CHIR-124 in this MCTS model, enhanced the sensitivity to the gemcitabine antiproliferative effect in correlation with an increase in DNA damage and apoptosis.
Conclusions
These results demonstrate that our pancreatic MCTS model, suitable for both screening and imaging analysis, is a valuable advanced tool for evaluating the spatio-temporal effect of drugs and drug combinations in a chemoresistant and microenvironment-depending tumor model.
Keywords: Tumor spheroid, Combination, Gemcitabine, CHK1 inhibitor, Pancreatic cancer
Articles from BMC Cancer are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central