PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcpsycBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Psychiatry
 
BMC Psychiatry. 2011; 11: 114.
Published online Jul 21, 2011. doi:  10.1186/1471-244X-11-114
PMCID: PMC3146925
Pragmatic randomised controlled trial of group psychoeducation versus group support in the maintenance of bipolar disorder
Richard K Morriss,corresponding author1 Fiona Lobban,2 Steven Jones,3 Lisa Riste,4 Sarah Peters,5 Christopher Roberts,6 Linda Davies,7 and Debbie Mayes8
1Professor of Psychiatry and Community Mental Health, Institute of Mental Health, University of Nottingham & Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
2Senior Lecturer in Clinical Psychology, Spectrum Centre for Mental Health Research, School of Health and Medicine, Lancaster University
3Professor of Clinical Psychology, Spectrum Centre for Mental Health Research, School of Health and Medicine, Lancaster University
4PARADES Programme Manager, Department of Psychology, University of Manchester
5Senior Lecturer in Psychology, University of Manchester
6Reader in Medical Statistics, School of Medicine, University of Manchester
7Professor of Health Economics, University of Manchester
8Service User Researcher, Spectrum Centre for Mental Health Research, Lancaster University
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Richard K Morriss: richard.morriss/at/nottingham.ac.uk; Fiona Lobban: f.lobban/at/lancaster.ac.uk; Steven Jones: s.jones7/at/lancaster.ac.uk; Lisa Riste: lisa.riste/at/manchester.ac.uk; Sarah Peters: sarah.peters/at/manchester.ac.uk; Christopher Roberts: chris.roberts/at/manchester.ac.uk; Linda Davies: linda.davies/at/manchester.ac.uk; Debbie Mayes: d.mayes/at/lancaster.ac.uk
Received May 4, 2011; Accepted July 21, 2011.
Abstract
Background
Non-didactically delivered curriculum based group psychoeducation has been shown to be more effective than both group support in a specialist mood disorder centre in Spain (with effects lasting up to five years), and treatment as usual in Australia. It is unclear whether the specific content and form of group psychoeducation is effective or the chance to meet and work collaboratively with other peers. The main objective of this trial is to determine whether curriculum based group psychoeducation is more clinically and cost effective than unstructured peer group support.
Methods/design
Single blind two centre cluster randomised controlled trial of 21 sessions group psychoeducation versus 21 sessions group peer support in adults with bipolar 1 or 2 disorder, not in current episode but relapsed in the previous two years. Individual randomisation is to either group at each site. The groups are carefully matched for the number and type of therapists, length and frequency of the interventions and overall aim of the groups but differ in content and style of delivery. The primary outcome is time to next bipolar episode with measures of the therapeutic process, barriers and drivers to the effective delivery of the interventions and economic analysis. Follow up is for 96 weeks after randomisation.
Discussion
The trial has features of both an efficacy and an effectiveness trial design. For generalisability in England it is set in routine public mental health practice with a high degree of expert patient involvement.
Trial Registration
Funding
National Institute for Health Research, England.
Articles from BMC Psychiatry are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central