PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcpsycBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Psychiatry
 
BMC Psychiatry. 2011; 11: 1.
Published online Jan 2, 2011. doi:  10.1186/1471-244X-11-1
PMCID: PMC3023738
ALGOS: the development of a randomized controlled trial testing a case management algorithm designed to reduce suicide risk among suicide attempters
Guillaume Vaiva,corresponding author1,2 Michel Walter,3 Abeer S Al Arab,2 Philippe Courtet,4 Frank Bellivier,5 Anne Laure Demarty,2 Stephane Duhem,2 Francois Ducrocq,6 Patrick Goldstein,6 and Christian Libersa2
1Département Universitaire de Psychiatrie & Pole de l'Urgence, Lille University Hospital, Lille, France
2Clinical Investigation Center 9301, INSERM et CHU Lille, Lille, France
3Brest University Hospital & JE 2535, UBO, Brest, France
4INSERM U888, Montpellier University Hospital, Montpellier, France
5INSERM U797, Pole de Psychiatrie, CHU de Créteil, Hôpital Henri Mondor & Paris 12 University, Créteil, France
6SAMU 59 et Pôle de l'Urgence, Lille University Hospital, Lille, France
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Guillaume Vaiva: guillaume.vaiva/at/chru-lille.fr; Michel Walter: michel.walter/at/chu-brest.fr; Abeer S Al Arab: abeer.shaikhalarab/at/chru-lille.fr; Philippe Courtet: philippecourtet/at/gmail.com; Frank Bellivier: frank.bellivier/at/inserm.fr; Anne Laure Demarty: anne-laure.demarty/at/chru-lille.fr; Stephane Duhem: stephane.duhem/at/chru-lille.fr; Francois Ducrocq: francois.ducrocq/at/chru-lille.fr; Patrick Goldstein: patrick.goldstein/at/chru-lille.fr; Christian Libersa: christian.libersa/at/chru-lille.fr
Received October 18, 2010; Accepted January 2, 2011.
Abstract
Background
Suicide attempts (SA) constitute a serious clinical problem. People who attempt suicide are at high risk of further repetition. However, no interventions have been shown to be effective in reducing repetition in this group of patients.
Methods/Design
Multicentre randomized controlled trial.
We examine the effectiveness of «ALGOS algorithm»: an intervention based in a decisional tree of contact type which aims at reducing the incidence of repeated suicide attempt during 6 months. This algorithm of case management comprises the two strategies of intervention that showed a significant reduction in the number of SA repeaters: systematic telephone contact (ineffective in first-attempters) and «Crisis card» (effective only in first-attempters). Participants who are lost from contact and those refusing healthcare, can then benefit from «short letters» or «postcards».
Discussion
ALGOS algorithm is easily reproducible and inexpensive intervention that will supply the guidelines for assessment and management of a population sometimes in difficulties with healthcare compliance. Furthermore, it will target some of these subgroups of patients by providing specific interventions for optimizing the benefits of case management strategy.
Trial Registration
The study was registered with the ClinicalTrials.gov Registry; number: NCT01123174.
Articles from BMC Psychiatry are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central