Search tips
Search criteria 


Logo of cuajLink to Publisher's site
Can Urol Assoc J. 2010 December; 4(6): 373.
PMCID: PMC2997823

Historic times for the CUA

Sender Herschorn, MD, FRCSC, President

This is a historic year for the CUA. Our organization has grown from having a strictly voluntary infrastructure to one with a Central Office that was run in association with the SIU. This November, we became a totally independent society with our own headquarters.

The CUA is grateful to Andrée Bélanger, Executive Director, and her team consisting of Tiffany Pizioli, Director of the Office of Education; Nadia Pace, Project Manager; Josephine Sciortino, Editorial Director of CUAJ; and Duong Nguyen, Financial Services/Membership Coordinator for ensuring that all of the functions of the CUA are continued without interruption. Andrée and her team have been particularly effective in making sure that basic functions, such as the telephone and computer systems, are in place for a smooth transition.

We owe a debt of gratitude to Jerzy Gajewski who, during the past year as President, moved the organization forward. He promoted the Strategic Plan, initiated by Laurence Klotz in 2009. Jerzy also promoted the development of formal alliances with the European Association of Urology through an Exchange Program to be initiated this spring and with the Chinese Urological Association, the other CUA, with the establishment of the Bethune Society.

The membership numbers of the CUA went from 838 to 888 in 2009 and most of the increase was in the Candidate member category. There are still challenges in having candidate members becoming full CUA members when they finish training, and the proportion of urologists who are CUA members is lower in Quebec than in other provinces. This stimulates us to make our society more relevant and responsive to the needs of urologists in this country.

The CUASF with Gerry Brock, Chair of the Administrative Council, and Martin Gleave, Chair of the Scientific Council, continued the tradition of funding academic urologists at the beginning of their careers. Five new applicants were funded along with renewal applications. While the funding model based on pharmaceutical support continues to be successful, other sources are being considered.

The CUA Office of Education approved 17 programs including the Annual Meeting and a variety of educational programs. Not only does the OE enhance the educational experience of the members, the revenues generated through accreditation and other activities contribute substantially to the bottom line of the organization. Of particular note is that the OE has received CME accreditor status by the Royal College for the next 5 years. Peter Anderson is stepping down next year as the first VP of Education. His imagination and innovative ideas were instrumental in making the OE a success.

Two very active committees are Patient Information, with Ben Chew as Chair, and Guidelines, with Hassan Razvi as Chair. Both of these committees continue to provide urologists with important information and support. Mike McCormack and the Information Technology Committee have very effectively kept the CUA web site current and relevant.

The 2011 Annual Meeting will take place in Montreal, June 19–21 at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth in the heart of the vibrant and historic city. Denis Lavoie, Secretary, and Stuart Oake, Treasurer, provide excellent and tireless support to the organization. The mission of the CUA is to represent Canadian urologists and to foster the highest standard of urologic care in this country. The CUA is a dynamic organization that constantly evolves to fulfill its mission and goals. November 2010 marks a major milestone in the history of Canadian urology.

Articles from Canadian Urological Association Journal are provided here courtesy of Canadian Urological Association