Search tips
Search criteria 


Logo of medhistThe Wellcome Trust Centre of the History of Medicine (UCL)Medical History
Med Hist. 2010 October; 54(4): 537.
PMCID: PMC2948701

News, Notes, and Queries

Bakken Travel Grants

Scholars and artists are invited to apply for travel fellowships and grants, which the Bakken Library and Museum in Minneapolis offers to encourage research in its collection of books, journals, manuscripts, prints, and instruments. The awards are to be used to help defray the expenses of travel, subsistence, and other direct costs of conducting research at the Bakken for researchers who must travel some distance and pay for temporary housing in the Twin Cities in order to conduct research at the Bakken.

Visiting Research Fellowships are awarded up to a maximum of $1,500; the minimum period of residence is two weeks, and preference is given to researchers who are interested in collaborating informally for a day or two with Bakken staff during their research visit.

Research Travel Grants are awarded up to a maximum of $500 (domestic) and $750 (foreign); the minimum period of residence is one week.

The next application deadline for either type of research assistance is 11 February 2011. For more details and application guidelines, please contact: Elizabeth Ihrig, Librarian, The Bakken Library and Museum, 3537 Zenith Avenue So., Minneapolis, MN., 55416, USA; tel.: (612) 926-3878 ext. 227; fax: (612) 927-7265; e-mail: gro.nekkabeht@girhI;

The William H Welch Medal, 2011

The William H Welch Award is awarded to one or more authors of a book (excluding edited volumes) of outstanding scholarly merit in the field of medical history published during the five calendar years preceding the award. Hence, books published during 2005–2009 inclusively will be eligible for the 2011 Medal. The award is named in honour of a major American figure in the history of medicine and public health, who was also one of the first faculty members at the Johns Hopkins medical school. The Medal was first presented in 1950 to Henry Sigerist. A list of subsequently awarded authors and their scholarship can be found at: http.//

The chair of the Welch Medal Committee, Keith Wailoo, Ph.D., welcomes suggestions of books to consider for the award. To nominate a book, copies must be sent to each of the five committee members. To nominate a book and/or obtain mailing addresses of committee members, contact:

Professor Keith Wailoo, Townsend Martin Professor of History and Public Affairs, Department of History, 136 Dickinson Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544-1017, USA; e-mail: ude.notecnirp@ooliawk.

Deadline for nominations: 31 October 2010. Previously nominated eligible books must be re-nominated; they will not be considered automatically. The Medal will be presented at the annual meeting of the American Association for the History of Medicine, in Philadelphia, PA, 28 April–1 May 2011.

Articles from Medical History are provided here courtesy of Cambridge University Press