PMCCPMCCPMCC

Conseils de recherche
Les critères de recherche 

Avancée

 
Logo of arthrestherBioMed Centralbiomed central web sitesearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleArthritis Research & Therapy
 
Arthritis Res Ther. 2010; 12(3): R119.
Published online Jun 21, 2010. doi:  10.1186/ar3056
PMCID: PMC2911913
Reduced trabecular bone mineral density and cortical thickness accompanied by increased outer bone circumference in metacarpal bone of rheumatoid arthritis patients: a cross-sectional study
Daniel Aeberli,corresponding author#1 Prisca Eser,#1 Harald Bonel,2 Jolanda Widmer,1 Gion Caliezi,1 Pierre-Alain Varisco,1 Burkhard Möller,1 and Peter M Villiger1
1Department of Rheumatology and Clinical Immunology/Allergology, University Hospital Berne, Freiburgstrasse 18, Bern 3010, Switzerland
2Department of Radiology, University Hospital Berne, Freiburgstrasse 18, Bern 3010, Switzerland
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
#Contributed equally.
Daniel Aeberli: daniel.aeberli/at/insel.ch; Prisca Eser: prisca.eser/at/insel.ch; Harald Bonel: harald.bonel/at/insel.ch; Jolanda Widmer: jolanda.widmer/at/insel.ch; Gion Caliezi: gion.caliezi/at/insel.ch; Pierre-Alain Varisco: pierre-alain.varisco/at/insel.ch; Burkhard Möller: burkhard.moeller/at/insel.ch; Peter M Villiger: peter.villiger/at/insel.ch
Received February 25, 2010; Revised May 20, 2010; Accepted June 21, 2010.
Abstract
Introduction
The objective of this study was to assess three-dimensional bone geometry and density at the epiphysis and shaft of the third meta-carpal bone of rheumatoid arthritis (RA) patients in comparison to healthy controls with the novel method of peripheral quantitative computed tomography (pQCT).
Methods
PQCT scans were performed in 50 female RA patients and 100 healthy female controls at the distal epiphyses and shafts of the third metacarpal bone, the radius and the tibia. Reproducibility was determined by coefficient of varia-tion. Bone densitometric and geometric parameters were compared between the two groups and correlated to disease characteristics.
Results
Reproducibility of different pQCT parameters was between 0.7% and 2.5%. RA patients had 12% to 19% lower trabecular bone mineral density (BMD) (P ≤ 0.001) at the distal epiphyses of radius, tibia and metacarpal bone. At the shafts of these bones RA patients had 7% to 16% thinner cortices (P ≤ 0.03). Total cross-sectional area (CSA) at the metacarpal bone shaft of pa-tients was larger (between 5% and 7%, P < 0.02), and relative cortical area was reduced by 13%. Erosiveness by Ratingen score correlated negatively with tra-becular and total BMD at the epiphyses and shaft cortical thickness of all measured bones (P < 0.04).
Conclusions
Reduced trabecular BMD and thinner cortices at peripheral bones, and a greater bone shaft diameter at the metacarpal bone suggest RA spe-cific bone alterations. The proposed pQCT protocol is reliable and allows measuring juxta-articular trabecular BMD and shaft geometry at the metacarpal bone.
Les articles de Arthritis Research & Therapy ont été offerts à titre gracieux par
BioMed Central.