PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcmeduBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Medical Education
 
BMC Med Educ. 2009; 9: 67.
Published online Nov 13, 2009. doi:  10.1186/1472-6920-9-67
PMCID: PMC2784445
Graduate entry to medicine: widening psychological diversity
David James,corresponding author1 Eamonn Ferguson,2 David Powis,3 Miles Bore,3 Don Munro,3 Ian Symonds,4 and Janet Yates1
1Medical Education Unit, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, University of Nottingham, UK
2School of Psychology, University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK
3School of Behavioural Science and Psychology, Faculty of Science and Information Technology, University of Newcastle, Newcastle, NSW, Australia
4Discipline of Reproductive Medicine School of Medicine & Public Health, Faculty of Health, University of Newcastle, NSW, Australia
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
David James: david.james/at/nottingham.ac.uk; Eamonn Ferguson: eamonn.ferguson/at/nottingham.ac.uk; David Powis: david.powis/at/newcastle.edu.au; Miles Bore: miles.bore/at/newcastle.edu.au; Don Munro: don.munro/at/newcastle.edu.au; Ian Symonds: ian.symonds/at/newcastle.edu.au; Janet Yates: janet.yates/at/nottingham.ac.uk
Received April 22, 2009; Accepted November 13, 2009.
Abstract
Background
At Nottingham University more than 95% of entrants to the traditional 5-year medical course are school leavers. Since 2003 we have admitted graduate entrants (GEM) to a shortened (4-year) course to 'widen access to students from more disadvantaged backgrounds'. We have recently shown that the GEM course widens academic and socio-demographic diversity of the medical student population. This study explored whether GEM students also bring psychological diversity and whether this could be beneficial.
Methods
We studied: a) 217 and 96 applicants to the Nottingham 5- and 4-year courses respectively, applying in the 2002-3 UCAS cycle, and, b) 246 school leavers starting the 5-year course and 39 graduate entrants to the 4-year course in October 2003. The psychological profiles of the two groups of applicants and two groups of entrants were compared using their performance in the Goldberg 'Big 5' Personality test, the Personal Qualities Assessment (PQA; measuring interpersonal traits and interpersonal values), and the Lovibond and Lovibond measure of depression, anxiety and stress. For the comparison of the Entrants we excluded the 33 school leavers and seven graduates who took the tests as Applicants.
Statistical analyses were undertaken using SPSS software (version 16.0).
Results
Graduate applicants compared to school leaver applicants were significantly more conscientious, more confident, more self controlled, more communitarian in moral orientation and less anxious. Only one of these differences was preserved in the entrants with graduates being less anxious. However, the graduate entrants were significantly less empathetic and conscientious than the school leavers.
Conclusion
This study has shown that school leaver and graduate entrants to medical school differ in some psychological characteristics. However, if confirmed in other studies and if they were manifest in the extreme, not all the traits brought by graduates would be desirable for someone aiming for a medical career.
Articles from BMC Medical Education are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central