PMCCPMCCPMCC

Search tips
Search criteria 

Advanced

 
Logo of bmcgenoBioMed Centralsearchsubmit a manuscriptregisterthis articleBMC Genomics
 
BMC Genomics. 2009; 10: 399.
Published online Aug 26, 2009. doi:  10.1186/1471-2164-10-399
PMCID: PMC2748093
Comparative 454 pyrosequencing of transcripts from two olive genotypes during fruit development
Fiammetta Alagna,1 Nunzio D'Agostino,2 Laura Torchia,3 Maurizio Servili,4 Rosa Rao,2 Marco Pietrella,5 Giovanni Giuliano,5 Maria Luisa Chiusano,2 Luciana Baldoni,corresponding author1 and Gaetano Perrottacorresponding author3
1CNR – Institute of Plant Genetics, Via Madonna Alta 130, 06128 Perugia, Italy
2Department of Soil, Plant, Environmental and Animal Production Sciences, University of Naples 'Federico II', Via Università 100, 80055 Portici, Italy
3ENEA, TRISAIA Research Center, S.S. 106 Ionica, 75026 Rotondella (Matera), Italy
4Department of Economical and Food Science, University of Perugia, Via S. Costanzo, 06126 Perugia, Italy
5ENEA, Research Center CASACCIA, S.M. Galeria 00163, Rome, Italy
corresponding authorCorresponding author.
Fiammetta Alagna: fiammetta_a/at/hotmail.com; Nunzio D'Agostino: nunzio.dagostino/at/gmail.com; Laura Torchia: laura.torchia/at/enea.it; Maurizio Servili: servimau/at/unipg.it; Rosa Rao: rosa.rao/at/unina.it; Marco Pietrella: marco.pietrella/at/enea.it; Giovanni Giuliano: giovanni.giuliano/at/enea.it; Maria Luisa Chiusano: chiusano/at/unina.it; Luciana Baldoni: luciana.baldoni/at/igv.cnr.it; Gaetano Perrotta: gaetano.perrotta/at/enea.it
Received April 15, 2009; Accepted August 26, 2009.
Abstract
Background
Despite its primary economic importance, genomic information on olive tree is still lacking. 454 pyrosequencing was used to enrich the very few sequence data currently available for the Olea europaea species and to identify genes involved in expression of fruit quality traits.
Results
Fruits of Coratina, a widely cultivated variety characterized by a very high phenolic content, and Tendellone, an oleuropein-lacking natural variant, were used as starting material for monitoring the transcriptome. Four different cDNA libraries were sequenced, respectively at the beginning and at the end of drupe development. A total of 261,485 reads were obtained, for an output of about 58 Mb. Raw sequence data were processed using a four step pipeline procedure and data were stored in a relational database with a web interface.
Conclusion
Massively parallel sequencing of different fruit cDNA collections has provided large scale information about the structure and putative function of gene transcripts accumulated during fruit development. Comparative transcript profiling allowed the identification of differentially expressed genes with potential relevance in regulating the fruit metabolism and phenolic content during ripening.
Articles from BMC Genomics are provided here courtesy of
BioMed Central