Search tips
Search criteria 


Logo of jbtJBT IndexAssociation Homepage
J Biomol Tech. 2003 December; 14(4): 315.
PMCID: PMC2279967


By the time, you receive this issue of JBT, the Executive Board Election 2003 will have been completed and two new members will have been elected to serve a four-year term on the Executive Board. The Executive Board is composed of eight members elected by the ABRF membership. The terms are staggered so that each year only two members rotate off the board. This year, our past president Mark Lively and current secretary/treasurer Laurey Steinke are each finishing their term. Without question, they have both done an outstanding job serving the association; their contributions have greatly impacted the progress and advancement of ABRF and are the basis for many ideas and discussions that will continue to carry on. We will miss their vision and input; however, luckily, both have decided to remain active members of ABRF and will be serving in functions such as representing the association at FASEB and participating in the nominations, web, and corporate relations committees—to mention only a few of their future commitments. We would like to thank them both for their work, service, and dedication to ABRF. Margaret Robertson has accepted the position of secretary/treasurer for ABRF, replacing Laurey Steinke.

Please note that the dues for 2004 have increased by $10 and will be $85 for the year effective immediately. ABRF membership dues have not changed since the society moved from a laboratory membership to individual membership. Dues will be increased slightly as necessary in the following years to cover the increasing costs of running the society. For those of you requesting membership or renewing by mail, please download the new application form from the website at or, preferably, use the website to submit your application electronically. You may use the old form but you must include the new fee of $85. ABRF will honor those $75 renewals that have already been received or are postmarked prior to October 27th.

This year, the Executive Board decided to carry out the election by an on-line–only voting process, in the hope that this would lead to a simplification of the voting process. The wisdom of this decision will be confirmed by the turnout for this year’s election, the results of which will not be known until after this column goes to press. Four outstanding ABRF members agreed to stand for election: Jay Fox, David Landsman, Kathryn Lilley, and Andrew Brooks.

Articles from Journal of Biomolecular Techniques : JBT are provided here courtesy of The Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities