Search tips
Search criteria 


Logo of jbtJBT IndexAssociation Homepage
J Biomol Tech. 2003 June; 14(2): 166.
PMCID: PMC2279907


The annual ABRF meeting was held in Denver, Colorado, February 10–13. Thanks to the meeting organizers, Scott Patterson and Bill Henzel, the meeting was yet again a complete success. More than 1300 scientists, students, and representatives from industry attended the meeting, continuing the steady increase of attendance at ABRF meetings. More than 84 speakers were brought to the meeting and Scott and Bill worked very hard to organize an exciting, scientifically stimulating meeting with excellent plenary lectures, scientific sessions, tutorials, and round-table discussion. Plenary speakers included Charles Cantor from Sequenom, San Diego, David Botstein from Stanford University, Palo Alto, and Richard Caprioli from Vanderbilt University, Nashville.

Downtown Denver turned out to be a fabulous meeting site and the scientific content of the meeting was outstanding. Our vendors and exhibitors outperformed themselves by putting on an excellent show with plenty of opportunities for the meeting attendees to catch up on the newest developments in technology and instrumentation. The strong partnership between the ABRF and vendors is an integral part of providing our members direct and in-depth access to the technologies used every day in our core laboratories.

The ABRF award for 2003 was presented to Dr. Michael Karas, Professor at the University of Frankfurt, Frankfurt, Germany, and Dr. Franz Hillenkamp, Professor at the University of Münster, Münster, Germany. This annual award for Outstanding Contributions to Biomolecular Technologies is generously sponsored by Agilent Technologies and the ABRF. Both received this award in recognition of their achievements in the development of MALDI-TOF and their continuously outstanding contributions to this field of mass spectrometry. After an eloquent historical overview of MALDI by Karas, Hillenkamp gave a second lecture entitled “Is There a Role for MALDI in Genomics?” Both lectures were examplary in demonstrating how important this technology has become and how widespread its use is today.

This year, the Executive Board introduced a new award for the four best posters presented at the ABRF 2003 meeting. David Landsman, Chairman, and members of the ABRF Education Committee were the judges for the Best Poster Awards sponsored by Amersham Biosciences of Piscataway, New Jersey. Over 100 abstracts were reviewed and judged and out of the ten finalists, the four best posters were chosen at the meeting, following a thorough review of the posters themselves. The first author of each poster award winner gave an oral presentation of their work at a separate scientific session of the meeting, all of them were very well done and also very well received.

This year’s Best Poster awards went to:

G. M. Hathawayet al., Caltech, Pasadena, California, for “Identification of Phosphorylated and O-Glycosylated Sites in Peptides by Chemically-Targeted Proteolysis (CTID).”

L Studyet al., University of Colorado, Boulder, Colorado and Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Boulder, Colorado, for “A Methodology Development of Human Shotgun Proteomics.”

R. J. Chalkleyet al., UCSF, San Francisco, California and Stanford University, Palo Alto, California, for “Characterization of Changes in Protein–Protein Interactions of the Yeast Nuclear Pore Complex During the Cell Cycle Using Multidimensional Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry.”

R. A. Welchet al., NCI/ATC, Gaithersburg, Maryland for “The National Cancer Institute’s Core Genotyping Facility (CGF): Approaching a Gold Standard in Genotyping Assay Validation.”

The poster competition was a great success, and attendance at the presentation was high. The Executive Board is planning the competition to be an annual event at the ABRF meeting.

Articles from Journal of Biomolecular Techniques : JBT are provided here courtesy of The Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities