Search tips
Search criteria 


Logo of thijTexas Heart Institute JournalSee also Cardiovascular Diseases Journal in PMCSubscribeSubmissionsTHI Journal Website
Tex Heart Inst J. 2007; 34(4): 404–405.
PMCID: PMC2170508

Texas Heart Institute Medal and the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases

figure 4FFU1
Figure. Charles E. Mullins, MD

Ray C. Fish (1902–1962) was a leading figure in Houston's natural gas industry and a philanthropist. He believed in the American dream of “opportunity for success.” The Ray C. Fish Foundation was established so that others might be encouraged to broaden man's self-knowledge and to keep the American dream alive. After its founder's death from heart disease, the Fish Foundation granted $5 million to make the Texas Heart Institute a reality. For this reason, the Institute's highest professional award is given in honor of this extraordinary man. The award recognizes those whose innovations have made significant contributions to cardiovascular medicine and surgery.

The 1st Texas Heart Institute Medal and Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases were presented in 1972 to Dr. Norman Shumway. Since 1972, 27 other highly deserving recipients have been so honored by the Institute. The complete Roll of Recipients appears at the end of this article.

Charles E. Mullins, MD

In 2007, the faculty and staff of the Institute were extremely pleased to honor Charles E. Mullins, MD. Dr. Mullins received his award at a dinner held in conjunction with the 7th Texas Update in Cardiovascular Advancements, on 28 July 2007. His lecture (“How Far We Have Progressed in the Development of Therapeutic Cardiac Catheterizations”) is available at the Texas Heart Institute Web site:

Dr. Mullins recently retired from his position at Baylor College of Medicine in the Department of Pediatrics and Texas Children's Hospital in the Section of Pediatric Cardiology. He began at Baylor 36 years earlier and served as director of the catheterization laboratory for 28 of those years. Long active in the pediatric cardiology fellowship training program, he participated in the training of more than 170 pediatric cardiologists during his tenure.

In the catheterization laboratory, Dr. Mullins developed many new devices and techniques and modified other techniques in order to improve diagnosis and therapy in children and adults with congenital heart disease. He was the principal investigator at Baylor and Texas Children's Hospital on 8 different multicenter clinical investigational protocols. Dr. Mullins has published 200 journal articles and 2 books, and he has contributed 11 chapters to other books.

For his long dedication and service to Texas Children's Hospital, the cardiac catheterization laboratories there were named after Dr. Mullins in 2003.

ROLL OF RECIPIENTS of the Texas Heart Institute Medal and the Ray C. Fish Award for Scientific Achievement in Cardiovascular Diseases

1972 Norman E. Shumway Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart Transplantation)

1973 F. Mason Sones, Jr. Cardiology (Coronary Angiography)

1974 Eugene E. Braunwald Physiology (Myocardial Preservation)

1975 Willem J. Kolff Cardiovascular Surgery (Artificial Organs)

1976 Harvey Feigenbaum Cardiology (Echocardiography)

1977 John W. Kirklin Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart-Lung Machines)

1978 Bernard Lown Cardiology (Cardiac Arrhythmias)

1979 John J. Gallagher and William C. Sealy (co-recipients) Cardiology and Cardiovascular Surgery (Surgery for Pre-excitation)

1980 W. Proctor Harvey Cardiology (Clinical Practice and Teaching)

1981 Paul M. Zoll Cardiology (Pacemaking)

1983 Andreas R. Grüntzig Cardiology (Percutaneous Transluminal Coronary Angioplasty)

1984 Hein J.J. Wellens and Douglas P. Zipes (co-recipients) Cardiology (Diagnosis and Management of Pediatric Cardiac Arrhythmias)

1985 Denton A. Cooley Cardiovascular Surgery (Surgery for Congenital Heart Disease, Aneurysms of the Aorta, and Implantation of the Artificial Heart)

1986 William J. Rashkind Pediatric Cardiology (Nonsurgical Treatment of Congenital Heart Disease)

1987 Dwight E. Harken Cardiovascular Surgery (Intracardiac Surgery)

1988 J. Willis Hurst Cardiology (Writing and Teaching)

1989 Robert J. Hall Cardiology (Clinical Practice and Teaching)

1990 Sol Sherry Cardiology (Thrombolytic Therapy)

1992 Arthur S. Keats Cardiovascular Anesthesiology

1997 Aldo R. Castañeda Pediatric Cardiovascular Surgery

1997 Julio C. Palmaz Radiology (Endovascular Stents)

1998 Magdi Yacoub Cardiovascular Surgery (Heart-Lung Transplantation)

1999 Thomas J. Fogarty Cardiovascular Surgery (Medical and Surgical Devices)

2004 James L. Cox Cardiovascular Surgery (Surgery for Atrial Fibrillation)

2004 Stephen Westaby Cardiovascular Surgery (Initiated first clinical trial of axial-flow devices for destination therapy and made significant contributions to the scientific literature based on his extensive surgical experience)

2007 Charles E. Mullins Pediatric Cardiology (Known for his dedication to teaching and his pioneering work in developing interventional techniques for treating congenital heart disease)

Articles from Texas Heart Institute Journal are provided here courtesy of Texas Heart Institute